Why Would You Deactivate Your Snapchat Account?

Snapchat is a social media platform worth over $20 billion. Snapchat ads are viewed up to a million times per day, and the app is especially popular among millenials. With more users than Twitter, Snapchat boasts a very impressive following. However, users are starting to become more and more aware of their privacy being infringed upon while using the popular app. In 2015, Snapchat released their new privacy policy, which essentially told users that their photos may be stored indefinitely. Snapchat speaks quite openly about collecting information on users, and sharing that information with their affiliates and other third parties. Think it's about time to delete your Snapchat after reading their privacy policy? We're here to help by laying out the following easy steps to permanently delete your Snapchat account.
Learn how to permanently delete your Snapchat account.

Deleting Your Snapchat Account Permanently

Once deleted, your Snapchat account will no longer exist and people cannot search for you on Snapchat or access your profile any longer. To delete your Snapchat account, follow our easy 5-step guide below.
  1. Enter the following link into your web browser: https://support.snapchat.com/delete-account.
  2. Enter your Snapchat user name and password.
  3. Confirm that you are not a robot.
  4. Click Submit.
  5. Click Delete My Account.
That's it. Your Snapchat account has been permanently deleted.
Learn how to permanently delete your Snapchat account.

More Ways to Protect Your Privacy

In addition to deleting your Snapchat account, you can take other steps to protect your privacy online when using social networks. The first step is awareness, and you should be aware of the following:
  • Even if you manage your privacy settings, there are still privacy concerns "behind the scenes" as Snapchat may be collecting data on users.
  • There is often metadata asscoiated with photos you post, which includes revealing details like the location the photo was taken and the time and date.
  • Understand how your social media applications connect to other apps, and that data sharing may occur across programs.
To protect your privacy while using social networks, you can also do the following:
  • Think before you share: Information shared on social media is publicly visible, so remember it is visible to a large amount of people.
  • Read the privacy policy: Be sure to understand the privacy policy of the social network and adjust your settings accordingly, and be aware of how your data is being collected, used or sold.
  • Adjust your privacy settings: Set your privacy settings within applications to control how your information is shared and what is kept private.
 
Source: Android Authority