← Return to Internet Privacy Guides
How To Delete Your Facebook Account
Why Would You Delete Your Facebook Account?Facebook is a social networking platform that helps connect people across the world through live video, photos, messaging and more. However, Facebook stores each one of its user's searches, and these search terms are kept in your Facebook account's Activity Log. This includes every search made for a person, business and page. Facebook also sells user data to third-party advertisers and other entities, which enables companies to produce targeted advertisements on the platform and to obtain and store private user data.
Deleting Your Facebook PermanentlyOnce deleted, your Facebook account will no longer exist and people cannot search for you on Facebook or access your profile any longer. To permanently delete your Facebook account, you will either have to search for the deletion page on Facebook's Help Center or simply visit Facebook's Delete My Account page directly. Unfortunately, Facebook makes it rather difficult to delete your Facebook account permanently via your account settings. To delete your account, follow our easy 5-step guide below.
- Enter the following page into your search bar: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account.
- Click the delete my account button to start the process.
- Enter your password and complete Facebook's security check.
- Click OK when prompted to acknowledge that you are permanently deleting your account.
- Wait 14 days and your Facebook account should be permanently deleted.
More Ways to Protect Your PrivacyIn addition to deleting your Facebook account, you can take other steps to protect your privacy online when using social networks. The first step is awareness, and you should be aware of the following:
- Information you post to social media is publicly visible, so think before you post.
- Even if you manage your privacy settings, there are still privacy concerns "behind the scenes" as Facebook collects data on users.
- Understand how your social media applications connect to other apps, and that data sharing may occur across programs.
- Use a VPN: A VPN encrypts your Internet connection, to keep your privacy and security protected when sending messages or personal communications.
- Think before you share: information shared on social media is publicly visible, so remember it is visible to a large amount of people.
- Adjust your privacy settings: Set your privacy settings within applications to control how your information is shared and what is kept private.