如何运作Cyphr

我们的设计目标

Cyphr是一个安全的消息传递应用程序。应用程序的原则设计目标包括:

  • 沟通必须尽可能容易

    理想情况下,应用程序是一样容易使用正常的未加密的消息传递应用程序。点,需要加密不应该负担用户提供额外的知识或活动除非绝对必要。

  • 用户可以对他们的隐私和安全水平做出明智的选择

    如果一个特性介绍要求信息共享,用户可以选择禁用这个特性。这给用户控制他们的经验,使他们能够定制应用程序自己期望的权衡安全性和功能。

  • Golden Frog对消息内容毫无知情

    消息数据总是加密的方式,只有发件人和收件人可以查看数据。这包括任何Golden Frog 服务器或网络设备在发送方和接收方之间。

  • Golden Frog只存储必要的最低数量的元数据以帮助传播消息内容。

    发送和接收消息通过Golden Frog系统,某些元数据必须是已知的。此外,通过互联网的工作方式的本质,其他元数据必须是已知的。Golden Frog只存储必要的元数据将消息传递到其最终的目的地,而且它只存储元数据足够长的时间来保证交货。

加密技术阐释

对称密钥加密

关键是像一个密码可以用来打开一个安全。加密一条消息时,发送方把消息在保险箱里,然后锁的安全的关键。一旦安全关闭,没有人可以阅读消息,除非他们有钥匙。收件人使用关键打开保险箱,取出消息。这是解密。

使用对称密钥加密,发送方和接收方有相同的键。他们彼此分享的关键,这就意味着他们必须相互信任。对称密钥加密通常是首选,因为它更快,但是因为两人有相同的密钥,你永远不能确保对方没有共享的关键。

公开密钥加密

使用公钥加密,两个键被使用——一个公钥和一个私钥。发件人使用收件人的公钥打开收件人的保险箱用于将消息地传递给收件人的保险箱。公共密钥只能用于保证邮件在收件人的保险箱,虽然保险箱是"开启," 发送者不能访问里面的东西。保险箱有一个单向开口。发件人使用收件人的公钥加密消息。要阅读邮件,收件人使用他的私钥打开保险箱。私钥能允许他取出消息。我们称之为私钥,因为只有收件人有访问它,因为它只打开收件人的保险箱,我们可以确保该消息只能由收件人读取。因此,收件人使用私钥来解密消息。

公钥和私钥是通过一些非常复杂的数学,让此相关工作。重要的是,通过这种方法,只要发送方知道接收方的公开密钥,发送方可以发送消息,他只知道收件人(或有人持有接收方的私钥)可以读取。

公钥验证(签名)

Using the same keys as those used for encryption, the sender can stamp his messages in such a way that he proves he sent them. In this case, the sender stamps the message with his own private key. When the recipient receives the message, he can find the sender's public key and the public key will line up with the stamp from the sender, proving that the recipient – and only the recipient – sent the message. We call the stamp a signature and we call the process of lining up the stamp a verification.

通过这种方法,可以验证接受者,他们发送方发送消息。这可以防止有人冒充别人和发送虚假信息。

消息传输过程

Cyphr嫁给上述加密概念产生的端到端加密解决方案。当有人发送一条消息给其他人,上加密消息的发送方的设备(电话、网络浏览器、计算机等)和不解密,直到到达收件人的设备。发送消息在一个高级的过程是:

  1. 消息发送者和他的私钥迹象他所以可以知道他收件人发送
  2. 发送方创建一个一次性密钥
  3. 发送方通过一次性密钥加密消息和签名
  4. 发送者查找接受者所有的公共密钥
  5. 发送方对每个接收方的公钥进行一次性密钥加密
  6. 发送方的迹象与发送方的私钥一次性密钥加密,收件人知道他创建它
  7. 发送者通过 Golden Frog的Cyphr 服务器将加密的密钥和加密的消息同时传送给接收者。

所有的工作都是在发送方的设备上完成,所以Golden Frog没有访问原始消息。因为消息是由一个对称密钥加密的Golden Frog没有,Golden Frog不能解密消息。由于对称密钥是由每个接收方的公钥加密,只有收件人才能访问密钥来解密消息。黄金青蛙在这一点上,Golden Frog是存储加密数据,无法解密直到收件人读取它。

接收消息的过程是:

  1. 收件人从Golden Frog的Cyphr服务器下载加密密钥和加密消息
  2. 接收方使用自己的私钥解密加密对称密钥
  3. 收件人使用对称密钥来解密加密的消息
  4. 收件人查找发送方的公开密钥
  5. 收件人使用的公钥来验证和对称密钥加密的消息是由发送方发送

所有的工作是收件人的设备上执行的,这是唯一的地方私钥的生活。只要设备安全正常,只有收件人才能读取消息。即使别人下载信息,他们不会有收件人的私钥,所以他们不能读对称密钥。不对称密钥,其他人无法读取加密信息。

其他考虑因素

除了使用上面的消息传输过程中,Cyphr还实现了以下几点:

  1. 当收件人读取消息的服务器,他们的消息副本从服务器删除
  2. 在可能的情况下,消息历史在设备上使用本地可用的加密加密选项
  3. 存储消息交付时,Cyphr服务器只存储时间收到和接受者的元数据(发送方的数据不是存储为没有必要)

更多细节

  1. 这位30岁的,证明RSA算法用于公钥加密和验证
  2. 256位AES加密用于对称加密消息
  3. 使用TLS加密消息数据的安全传输,Cyphr服务器
  4. Cyphr服务器位于苏黎世的瑞士,在那里他们符合瑞士隐私法

How Cyphr Works

Our Design Goals

Cyphr is a secure messaging application. Principle design goals of the application include:

  • Communication must be as easy as possible

    Ideally, the application is as easy to use as any normal unencrypted messaging app. The points where encryption is required should not burden the user with extra knowledge or activity except where absolutely necessary.

  • The user can make informed choices about their level of privacy and security

    If a feature is introduced that requires information to be shared, the user can optionally disable that feature. This gives the user control over their experience and allows them to tailor the app to their own desired trade-offs between security and functionality.

  • Golden Frog has Zero knowledge of the message content

    Message data is always encrypted in a way that only the sender and the recipient can view the data. This includes any Golden Frog servers or network devices in between the sender and the recipient.

  • Golden Frog stores only the minimum amount of metadata necessary to help transmit message content

    To send and receive messages through Golden Frog's systems, certain metadata must be known. In addition, by the nature of the way the Internet works, other metadata has to be known. Golden Frog stores only the metadata necessary to deliver the message to its final destination, and it only stores metadata long enough to guarantee that delivery.

Encryption Technologies Explained

Symmetric Key Encryption

A key is like a password that can be used to unlock a safe. To encrypt a message, the sender puts the message in the safe, and then locks the safe with the key. Once the safe is closed, no one can read the message unless they have the key. The recipient uses a key to open the safe, and pull the message out. This is decryption.

With symmetric key encryption, both the sender and recipient have the same key. They have to share the key with each other, which means they have to trust each other. Symmetric key encryption is generally preferred because it's faster, but because two people have the same key, you can never be sure that the other party hasn't shared the key.

Public Key Encryption

With public key encryption, two keys are used - a public key and a private key. A sender uses the recipient's public key to open the safe for putting messages in the recipient's safe. The public key can only be used for putting messages in the recipient's safe, so even though the safe is "open," the sender can't actually access anything inside. The safe has a one-way opening. The sender uses the recipient's public key to encrypt the message. To read the message, the recipient uses his private key to open the safe. The private key is what allows him to pull messages out. We call it the private key because only the recipient has access to it, and because it only opens the recipient's safe, we can be sure that the message can only be read by the recipient. Thus, the recipient uses the private key to decrypt the message.

The public key and private key are related by some very complex math that allows this to work. The important thing is that with this method, as long as the sender knows the recipient's public key, the sender can send messages that he knows only the recipient (or someone holding the recipient's private key) can read.

Public Key Verification (Signing)

Using the same keys as those used for encryption, the sender can stamp his messages in such a way that he proves he sent them. In this case, the sender stamps the message with his own private key. When the recipient receives the message, he can find the sender's public key and the public key will line up with the stamp from the sender, proving that the recipient – and only the recipient – sent the message. We call the stamp a signature and we call the process of lining up the stamp a verification.

With this method, a sender can verify to the recipient that they sent the message. This prevents someone from masquerading as someone else and sending false messages.

Message Transmission Process

Cyphr marries the encryption concepts mentioned above to produce an end-to-end encrypted solution. When someone sends a message to someone else, the message is encrypted on the sender's device (phone, web browser, computer, etc.) and is not decrypted until it reaches the recipient's device. The process of sending a message at a high-level is:

  1. The sender signs his message with his private key so the recipient can know he sent it
  2. The sender creates a one-time throwaway key
  3. The sender encrypts the message and signature with the one-time key
  4. The sender looks up all of the recipient's public keys
  5. The sender encrypts the one-time key with each recipient's public key
  6. The sender signs the encrypted one-time key with the sender's private key so the recipient knows he created it
  7. The sender sends both the encrypted key and the encrypted message to the recipient via Golden Frog's Cyphr servers

All of this work is done on the sender's device, so Golden Frog doesn't have access to the original message. Because the message is encrypted by a symmetric key Golden Frog does not have, Golden Frog cannot decrypt the message. Because the symmetric key is encrypted by each recipient's public key, only the recipients can access the key needed to decrypt the message. At this point, Golden Frog is storing encrypted data that can't be decrypted until a recipient reads it.

The process of receiving a message is:

  1. The recipient downloads the encrypted key and encrypted message from Golden Frog's Cyphr servers
  2. The recipient uses his private key to decrypt the encrypted symmetric key
  3. The recipient uses the symmetric key to decrypt the encrypted message
  4. The recipient looks up the sender's public key
  5. The recipient uses the public key to verify the message and the encrypted symmetric key were sent by the sender

All of this work is performed on the recipient's device, which is the only place the private key lives. As long as the device is secured properly, only the recipient can read the messages. Even if someone else were to download the message, they wouldn't have the recipient's private key and so they could not read the symmetric key. Without the symmetric key, someone else cannot read the encrypted message.

Other Considerations

In addition to the use of the message transmission process above, Cyphr also implements the following:

  1. When a recipient reads a message off the server, their copy of the message is deleted from the server
  2. Where possible, message history on the device is encrypted using locally available encryption options
  3. When storing messages for delivery, the Cyphr servers only store time received and recipient metadata (data about the sender is not stored as it is not necessary)

More Specifics

  1. The 30-year-old, proven RSA algorithm is used for both public key encryption and verification
  2. 256-bit AES encryption is used for the symmetric message encryption
  3. TLS is used for secure transmission of the encrypted message data to and from Cyphr servers
  4. Cyphr servers are located in Zurich, Switzerland, where they conform to Swiss privacy laws